Stress Sucks.

I’m always stressing about something. Do I have any good reasons for it? Nope. *I know.. I wish I truly had a reason for it* I think all in all I have slight anxiety in certain situations too, which makes me worry as well. I overthink everything, which in turn causes me to become more and more stressed out. Honestly, it is NOT a comfortable or good feeling at all.

I really hate feeling so powerless when all these thoughts are running through my head. I also think that society does not think of stress as a real issue. It bothers me every day and it seems pretty real to me. It stresses me out not knowing what could happen which, I know.. is pretty dumb because how are we supposed to know what could happen if life changes drastically each and every day. Things happen to each and every one of us and we can’t control it. I think that’s what is the most scary thing about living. That things happen without us being able to be in control and when it does and it’s something bad we don’t normally enjoy it or like it.

All in all stress sucks. So how can we minimize how stressed we get on a daily basis? I have 3 ways that I use to calm myself down and de-stress.

1. When I can feel the stress coming on I usually freak out and allow myself to just let any emotion through which sometimes doesn’t end well. I also find myself being very rude when I am at my highest stress point too. Once I’m at that high point and I realize how ridiculous I’m acting I take a minute to reflect on what’s going on. Can I really control this? Is this my fault? Is this someone else’s fault? Who cares. Yes there are things that we should take seriously and should pay attention too, but that does not mean that we need to freak out and stress until we can’t contain ourselves anymore. This is when I usually take a deep breath and try to clear my mind.

2. Another way that I calm myself down is to take a look at the situation and calmly express what is currently bothering me to the people around me. Now.. I’m gonna be honest, I’m not the best at calmly expressing myself to others or even my boyfriend when I am extremely stressed. This is something I seriously need to work on but I think that at least half of the time I try and calmly express what is going on in my head and tell the other person how I feel about the situation and why it is stressing me out. I think that if you are stressing about something it needs to be talked about unless you want to just blow up in someone’s face later. Which could very well excel to something bad in a short period of time.

3. My third way to de-stress is to just evaluate what’s going on in your life and take a “chill pill”. Sometimes people stress you out so much & you just have to realize that they will always make you feel this way and there is nothing that you can do to fix it. The only other option is to just let it go and stop allowing them to take this much control of your life. You should not let someone stress you out to the point of no return. It is not okay. Trust me I have been in this boat before in my life and it’s hard to just let it go. But if you can do it it will definitely bring you into a new light in your life.

I hope that this can help anyone out there who is going through tons of stress in their life.

Until next time!

– Katy

Leave a Reply

